The Earth∞Space Sustainability Initiative (ESSI) appoints its Executive Committee

Category: Policy Making, Industry

The Earth∞Space Sustainability Initiative (ESSI) has appointed its Executive Committee. The purpose of the Executive Committee is to provide strategic leadership to ESSI at an international level.


It will advise ESSI on all aspects of work, providing expert and independent guidance on space sustainability to governments, companies and other organisations around the world.


The Earth∞Space Sustainability Initiative is an organisation dedicated to understanding and incentivising sustainable activities in space.


To do this ESSI brings together industry, academia, governments and international organisations, with the finance and insurance communities to ensure that space continues to support the environmental, economic and scientific interests of current and future generations. As such, the international nature of ESSI is crucial.


“The global importance of ESSI’s role in helping to determine sustainable activities in space is reflected in the expertise of the people on our Executive Committee. Their interest in helping ESSI achieve success has been significant, and we are positively looking forward to collaborating with them all,” says Joanne Wheeler, ESSI Director.


The Executive Committee Members are:


Marilena Ampelikioti, Consultant to the Secretary General of Ministry of Digital Governance, Greek Government 

Professor Martin Barstow, Professor of Astrophysics and Space Science – School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Leicester

Richard Brook OBE FREng, Board Member, Satellite Finance Network and Vice President, AIRTO

Lord Cromwell, Cross-Bench Member, House of Lords

Dr Theunis Kotze, Head of Legal, Square Kilometre Array (SKAO)

Professor Hugh Lewis, Professor of Astronautics, University of Southampton

Dr Richard Linares, Associate Professor – Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics, MIT 

Dr Peter Martinez, Executive Director, Secure World Foundation 

Dr Robert Massey, Deputy Executive Director, Royal Astronomical Society 

Professor Andy Mount, Professor of Physical Electrochemistry, University of Edinburgh

Mr Charles Mwangi, Ag. Director Space Sector & Technology Development, Kenya Space Agency

Dr Rainer Schnepfleitner, Director, Office for Communications in Liechtenstein 

Mr Steve Spittle, Chief Technology Officer & Founder, GlobalTrust

Dr Hedley Stokes, Director, PHS Space Ltd

Mr David Wade, Space Underwriter, Atrium Space Insurance Consortium

Mr Nobuo Yoshii, Space Insurance Underwriter, Tokio Marine Nichido Insurance

Professor Marek Ziebart, Professor of Space Geodesy, University College, London 

< Previous Article | Next Article >
URL copied to clipboard